This is provided for informational purposes only and is in no way meant to be, nor should it be, considered legal advice.
No. If you want to get a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit you must meet all of Missouri’s eligibility requirements and go through the “New Applicant” process at your local Sheriff’s Office. RSMo 571.101
If I have an out-of-state permit, do I have to take a firearms training course to get a Missouri Permit?
Most likely the answer is yes. However, if both your instructor and the course you were taught meet Missouri requirements, you do not have to take the training in Missouri. You will need a certificate of firearms safety training course completion that meets Missouri requirements and that is signed by an instructor that meets Missouri requirements. Click here to view a sample, “certificate of firearms safety training course completion.”
MISSOURI INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS RSMo 571.111.5
A firearms safety instructor shall be considered to be a qualified firearms safety instructor by any sheriff issuing a concealed carry permit pursuant to sections ….. if the instructor:
(1) Is a valid firearms safety instructor certified by the National Rifle Association holding a rating as a personal protection instructor or pistol marksmanship instructor; or
(2) Submits a photocopy of a notarized certificate from a firearms safety instructor’s course offered by a local, state, or federal governmental agency; or
(3) Submits a photocopy of a notarized certificate from a firearms safety instructor course approved by the department of public safety; or
(4) Has successfully completed a firearms safety instructor course given by or under the supervision of any state, county, municipal, or federal law enforcement agency; or
(5) Is a certified police officer firearms safety instructor.
MISSOURI COURSE REQUIREMENTS RSMo 571.111.2
A firearms safety course must be at least eight hours in length and included:
(1) Handgun safety in the classroom, at home, on the firing range and while carrying the firearm;
(2) A physical demonstration performed by the applicant that demonstrated his or her ability to safely load and unload either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol and demonstrated his or her marksmanship with either firearm;
(3) The basic principles of marksmanship;
(4) Care and cleaning of concealable firearms;
(5) Safe storage of firearms at home;
(6) The requirements of this state for obtaining a concealed carry permit from the sheriff of the individual’s county of residence;
(7) The laws relating to firearms as prescribed in this chapter;
(8) The laws relating to the justifiable use of force as prescribed in Revised Missouri Statute chapter 563;
(9) A live firing exercise of sufficient duration for each applicant to fire either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol, from a standing position or its equivalent, a minimum of twenty rounds from the handgun at a distance of seven yards from a B-27 silhouette target or an equivalent target;
(10) A live-fire test administered to the applicant while the instructor was present of twenty rounds from either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol from a standing position or its equivalent at a distance from a B-27 silhouette target, or an equivalent target, of seven yards. 15 of the 20 rounds fired must be within the silhouette portion of the targets.
If you change your name, you have 30 days to notify your sheriff and obtain a corrected or new permit. The sheriff may charge you no more than $10 to process the name change. If you do not notify your sheriff within 30 days that you have changed your name, the sheriff MUST, by law, charge you a late fee of $10 per month for each month up to six months. If you neglect to notify your sheriff within 180 days that you have changed your name, your permit automatically becomes invalid. RSMo 571.104.7 and .8
You are not required to report a change of address unless you move to a different county. You have 30 days to notify the sheriff of the county into which you move of your permanent residence location. The sheriff may charge you no more than $10 to process the address change. If you do not notify the sheriff within 30 days that you have moved into their county, the sheriff MUST, by law, charge you a late fee of $10 per month for each month up to six months. If you neglect to notify the sheriff within 180 days that you have moved into their county, your permit automatically becomes invalid. RSMo 571.104.5 and .8
You will get a new permit number and a new card from the sheriff.
You must notify your sheriff within seven days after realizing your permit has been lost or destroyed. You will be required to provide a statement of the loss or destruction. Your sheriff may charge you no more than $10 to replace your lost or destroyed permit. RSM0 571.104.6
To be eligible for a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit, you must have assumed residency in Missouri or be a member of the Armed Forces stationed in Missouri, or the spouse of such member of the military. A residence address is a person’s true, fixed, principal, and permanent home, to which a person intends to return and remain, even though currently residing elsewhere.
The State of Missouri does not prohibit “Open Carry.” However, some local jurisdictions prohibit it by local ordinance. You may open carry in those jurisdictions only if you have a valid concealed carry permit and you have it in your possession at all times. You must display your permit upon demand of a law enforcement officer. RSMo 21.750.3(2)
Missouri’s concealed carry law provides recognition of concealed weapons permits from every state that issues them. Below is a map and a list showing which states recognize Missouri concealed-carry permits.
Weapons laws in different states can and do have different definitions and restrictions. Because of those differences, Missourians who have CCW permits and are planning to carry concealed weapons while traveling in and through the states that now recognize Missouri permits may still want to contact law enforcement authorities in those states to clarify any specific questions. Click here to view a map and a listing of the states that recognize Missouri permits.