THE MSA TRAINING ACADEMY

As with many other state-licensed training academies, the Missouri Sheriffs’ Association Training  Academy offers basic peace officer training and continuing education. However, two things set our academy apart from others:

  1. Our ability to hold regional part-time classes throughout communities so students can continue to live at home, spend time with their family, and work while attending classes; and
  2. Our ability to offer students a wider array of educational and skill building opportunities.

Whether you have your sights set on municipal or county law enforcement, we’ve got you covered.  We are the only academy in the state to incorporate Jail and Court Security Officer certification into our curriculum.

OUR INSTRUCTORS

Academy instructors are working or retired deputies, police officers, highway patrol troopers, federal law enforcement officers,  juvenile officers, judges, firefighters, attorneys and other professionals local to the communities where classes are held. They are licensed and regulated by the Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST) Program, a Division of the Missouri Department of Public Safety.

GRADUATE WITH

• A class “A” Peace Officer License
• 120 Hour Jail Officer Certification
• Court Security Officer Certification
• PPCT Defense Tactics Certification
• PPCT Ground Avoidance/Ground Escape Certification
• PPCT Spontaneous Knife/Edged Weapons Defense Certification
• Handgun/Shotgun Certification
• Patrol Rifle Certification
• Less Lethal Munitions Certification
• TASER Certification
• OC/Pepper Spray Certification
• Active Shooter Response Certification
• Department of Health & Senior Services Basic 1st Responder Certification
• NHTSA Standardized Field Sobriety Testing Certification

The MSATA 700-Hour Basic Peace Officer Academy exceeds the State of Missouri’s minimum basic training requirements for peace officer licensing. Part-time classes are held Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6 p.m. – 10 p.m., Saturdays from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. and Sundays as needed. The course is over 700 hours long and takes approximately 11 months to complete. Full-time classes are held Monday through Friday 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. at our Jefferson City location.

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

AGE REQUIREMENT
Must be 20 years of age prior to the start date of the academy.

RESIDENCY
Must be a citizen of the United States.

EDUCATION
Documentary proof of high school education or a “State High School Equivalence” certificate.

VISION
Vision in each eye must be correctable to 20/40.

ARREST RECORD
Must be free from conviction. Must have no gross misconduct indicating inability to function as a peace officer. No Felony Conviction (bold) ,SIS (Suspended Imposition of Sentence), or S.E.S. (Suspended Execution of Sentence).

DRIVER’S LICENSE
Must possess a valid driver’s license at the time of application.

MILITARY STATUS
Must have an “honorable” discharge or “under honorable conditions” discharge if having served in the military.

PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS
Trainees must have the physical ability to keep the peace, make a forcible arrest, engage in foot pursuits, control resistance, control aggression, and to protect the public, fellow officers, and himself from physical or lethal force assaults. Trainees must be able to physically generate fluidity, speed, and power — with control.

UNIFORM REQUIREMENTS

• Black BDU Pants
• One Pair of Black, Minimum 6” Waterproof Tactical Boots.
• Running Shoes
• Shorts/Athletic Apparel
• Gym Bag
• Laptop Computer

FIREARMS

Students are required to furnish their own handgun and ammunition. Acceptable handguns are semiautomatic between 9mm and 45 calibers.

LOCATIONS NEAR YOU

Jefferson City (Part Time) – August 14, 2018
West Plains – August 14, 2018
Platte City – August 16, 2018
Poplar Bluff – August 16, 2018
Waynesville – August 21, 2018
Mt. Vernon – August 23, 2018
Salem – August 23, 2018
Jefferson City (Full Time) – October 15, 2018

Camdenton – January 15, 2019
Union – January 15, 2019
Kirksville – January 17, 2019
Reeds Spring – January 17, 2019

APPLICATION PROCESS

To submit your application to the Missouri Sheriffs’ Association Training Academy, first click here to download an application.

The following documents need to be included with your application:

  • Copy of your birth certificate and valid driver’s license;
  • Copy of your high school diploma, college diploma GED certification;
  • Copy of your DD214 if you were in the military;
  • Basic Training Legal Questionnaire and Authorization Form; and
  • Check or money order for $275.00 (non-refundable) made payable to “Missouri Sheriffs’ Association Training Academy” for the processing and application fee.


Mail your application to:
Missouri Sheriffs’ Association Training Academy
6605 Business 50 West
Jefferson City, MO 65109-6307

COST

700-Hour Basic Academy……………….$5,000.00
Application Processing Fee……………..$275.00 (non-refundable)
Fingerprinting Process……………………$40.30

Supplies **(All supplies is an approximate cost. Not included in tuition)**
1 pair of BDU pants…………………………$50.00
1 pair of black tactical boots……………..$100.00
(minimum 6″ waterproof)
Ammunition…………………………………..$1,000.00
Holster…………………………………………..$140.00
Duty Belt………………………………………..$60.00
Handcuff Case………………………………..$30.00
Double Magazine Pouch…………………..$40.00
Glock……………………………………………..$700.00
Magazines………………………………………$60.00
Hearing Protection………………………….$20.00
Eye Protection………………………………..$15.00
Tactical Flashlight……………………………$150.00
(should have a minimum of 50 LUMS
and be between 3.5 & 6.5 inches long)
Athletic Support Cup (for males)……….$15.00

**Veteran’s benefits available to those who qualify**

 

Physical Activity Requirements: Adopted from RI State Police Academy